So…about that moonshot post

I just and I mean just posted about how I will not be attempting my moonshot this year and two days later the race is cancelled because of coronavirus fears….I have no words honestly. Also, if you are looking for a more well thought out post, this is not it. I am basically going to word vomit here and hope it makes sense.

I was looking forward to the half marathon since I was not going to run the full marathon, even though I was not prepared for it at all. A half marathon has almost become second nature to me, which I do not know if that is a good or bad thing.

So instead of racing this spring, I am going to try and focus on reevaluating my running goals and develop a training plan that will carry me through 2020 into 2021 so I can get that BQ!

Also, I realize race cancellations are to protect us and keep us healthy, that does not mean you cannot be mad or annoyed. A lot of blood, sweat, tears and sacrifice went into the last however many months so for a race to be cancelled or postponed, even for something as serious as the coronavirus, it can be stressful and feel as though all the work you did was pointless. Always remember it was never pointless or a waste. The training you did to prepare for your spring race, will carry you into your next training cycle and races. Everything you learned, all the miles and the risks you took, you will realize they have a purpose as you turn towards the unknown future. There will always be another race, and now you are stronger than you were before. You can do this.

Leave a comment